a reported rape case

Sexual violence is a taboo issue, I started writing about it in October and was trying to collect information about it. As of now I still have not found available services for survivors.  From personal conversations I know that quite a few women have been raped either by strangers or boyfriends or in marriage, yet the rapes go unreported. I personally know a dozen of women who were raped at some point of their lives, some by relatives. Only one of this dozen of cases was reported to the police with criminal charges following. I know a woman who was raped during the days of revolution by the looters. Given my in a way ‘privileged’ circle of communication, I would assume that there is a lot more out there.

What made me think about the issue today is the reported case of alleged rape by 41-year-old father of his 19-year-old daughter. The Ministry of Interior says that the father has been continuously drunk and raping his daughter since September 2007. 

Leave a Reply

